Yellowman’s Banana Lime Bread

Over at Yellow & Orange talk recently turned to banana bread when Toni posted some delicious photos from one of her baking sprees.  It seems Toni and I have in common the fact that we both love our recipes for banana bread.  Here’s something Toni and I do not have in common: she loves to cook.  Me?  There are few things that interest me less.  I can cook, but I just don’t like to do it.  I have a small list of things that I make and I like to think that I make them well (macaroni & cheese, salmon cannelloni, veggie chili…).  Can somebody back me up here?  Clay?  Bex?  Kelly?  Piera?  Somebody?

Anyway, when I commented, I mentioned my banana bread recipe and both Toni and Dawn demanded I hand it over.  In the interest of  investigating the feeling of being really (or at least somewhat) domestically capable, I decided to do something that I’ve very rarely done before: I’m going to share the recipe.  (Puzzled contacts everywhere scratching their heads… Make-up?  Recipes?  What’s next?  And what did those crazy French people do to Carly???)

From the cookbook Sundays at Moosewood Restaurant.

Book_sundaysYellowman’s Banana Lime Bread
In St. Lucia and Anguilles, I made friends with some local people after repeated visits to the same beaches.  I won’t forget their great nicknames: Merit, Rah’s Bucket, Campbell Soup, Sugar Ray, the Ram, So-lar, Freakout, Domino, Splif and Gorgeous.  This tasty bread is named after Yellowman.

Yields 1 loaf.

BATTER
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup mashed bananas (about 3 bananas)
3 tablespoons milk (or plain yogurt)
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 cup unsweetened grated coconut, toasted
2 cups unbleached white flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

GLAZE
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon rum
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice

TOPPING
1/4 cup unsweetened grated coconut, toasted

    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and butter a 9x5x3 inch loaf pan.
    To make the batter, in a large mixing bowl, cream the sugar and butter.  Stir in the eggs, bananas, milk or yogurt, and lime juice.  Add the salt, ginger, and grated coconut and mix well.  Sift the flour and baking powder together in a separate bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix them until smooth.  Pour the butter into the buttered loaf pan and bake for an hour, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool the bread for about 10 minutes before removing it from the pan.
    Meanwhile, for the glaze, combine the brown sugar, butter, rum, and lime juice in a small saucepan on low heat, stirring constantly for about 5 minutes, until it becomes a thin syrup.  Pour this glaze over the loaf, spreading it with a spatula or spoon to coat the top and sides.  Sprinkle toasted grated coconut evenly over the glazed loaf.

Voilà.  Bon appétit.

15 Responses to “Yellowman’s Banana Lime Bread”

  1. Tai Says:

    Ah, the Moosewood.
    I have a friend that swears by that book, and her cauliflower and cheese soup certainly is a fine example!

  2. Toni Says:

    Dang, that sounds good!

  3. dawn Says:

    I’m trying to list other things i can use that glaze with! dang!

  4. Carly-Ann Says:

    Ah the glaze… the one questionable part of the recipe. Don’t get me wrong, it is delicious. Here’s the thing: there ends up being a LOT more of it thatn you actually realize and the consistency of it is much runnier than I was expecting. (But keep it mind that cooking annoys me so that may not be an accurate statement.) I got to the point where I was putting it on while the bread was still in the pan over the top of it and letting it sit until it thickens up a little. If you come up with any other solution or a way to fix that, let me know.

    Tai: yeah, it’s a Moosewood thing. I think there are about 10 cookbooks of theirs out there (I looked when I found the link I used up there). I only have the one I’ve shown, but it has served me well so far.

  5. Dex Says:

    Okay..so the French may have fucked you up. You haven’t posted to everyone about your desire to join the Army! When will you share that with everyone?

  6. Dex Says:

    I just looked at your Portland photos. I guess my city is kinda nice when you look at it like that. A couple notes:

    That bridge you like so much:
    Steele Bridge

    The MAX you referred to:
    Is actually the Portland Streetcar that runs from the Riverfront to NW 23rd area. The MAX runs West to East covering many, many miles through Portland and it’s suburbs.

  7. Carly-Ann Says:

    Since no one takes me seriously, Amy, I’ve kept the Army thing to myself. My silence is also due to a need for some more information. I’m waiting for an email from them.

    Points taken and album has been updated to reflect new information. Thank you for your help.

  8. Bex Says:

    The mac and cheese was definitely good…I remember being impressed when you admitted you’d made it from scratch.

    But I think unless cooking is someone’s forte, most people are the same way – I have a few recipes I can do reasonably well, and can’t be bothered with the rest.

    And Carly, friggin’ hell – the ARMY?!?

  9. Carly-Ann Says:

    Screams defiantly à la defiant teenager: “I knew you wouldn’t understand!!!”

    And yeah, I get that people can’t be bothered, but most people manage to pull through and sustain themselves with reasonable homemade food instead of relying solely on a combination of cans, frozen foods, take away and Clay.

  10. Piera Says:

    I’m with Bex on the Mac&Cheese and also on the Army thing, WTF??????

  11. kelly Says:

    Never had your mac and cheese. I’m sure it’s great. I have had the chance to enjoy your salmon canneloni and it is GREAT. I love it! And you’ve made other things for me that are good.

  12. Lawrence Says:

    My mom and I are going to go try this recipe tonight!
    LP

  13. Sharlene Says:

    I can vouch for your vegetarian lasagna. It’s pretty good, even if it was a toss up.

  14. Carly-Ann Says:

    Ah, Sharlene. We were such dorks, weren’t we? Good times…

    How’d it turn out Lawrence?

  15. Lawrence Says:

    It came out great, very good, yummy yummy!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

