Reconstructed/deconstructed

Dismembermentplan_reunion
A lot of people I know look forward to reunion tours.  For instance, when The Police announced theirs recently, it was big news.  Me?  I didn’t really care.  It’s not that I don’t like Sting & Co., I think Synchronicity is one of the best albums made, it’s just that I’m a bigger fan of keeping the past in the past.  A lot of Aaron’s musical passions rest in the 60s & 70s, some even earlier, less later.  Partly due to that, he isn’t bothered by the concept of a reunion tour.  In fact, they thrill him.  Whenever the discussion of one comes up, I outright refuse to go, my decision made on principle alone, *but* I have always conceded to the existence of one exception.

It’s with a heavy heart that I report the following announcement that came to me in a MySpace bulletin.  I’m not sad that it’s happening, I’m just not sure if I can sing every.single.word to The Dismemberment Plan Gets Rich enough times in enough embarrassing situations to raise the dough it would take for me to attend this show.

On the deconstructed side of things, I have better news.  Ben Gibbard is heading out on the road on his own this spring, hitting much closer to (my) home on May 20.  At least I have something to look forward to.

For your listening pleasure.  Feel free to show your appreciation monetarily – I really need to go to DC.

6 Responses to “Reconstructed/deconstructed”

  1. aaron Says:

    Let’s go!!!

  2. mrsmogul Says:

    I didn’t know about The Police until the Grammys’ I was so excited so Synchronicity was my first Police album! Remember albums? Anyway, I ditched Feedblitz because I think it must be annoying for people to get daily email notifications from my blog. I subscribe to two blogs and I get them all the time and I find it annoying.

  3. John O Says:

    There are very few groups that would fit the bill for me to go and see when they get back together. The Police, and Iron Maiden were the big 2 for me. They meant a lot to me in my teenage years, so I’m stoked for the Vancouver show on Monday, May 28th!

    I guess another good thing about reunion tours is that it usually shows the good musicians have “still got it” when they’re older, and that it’s still as near and dear to their hearts as it was to the fans of the bands. Sure, it can be perceived as a money grab, but if they weren’t hugely popular initially, they won’t make the big bucks that the Police will (I think they said The Police will be raking in about 300 Million dollars on this tour). Crikey!

  4. Kristin Says:

    I admire your passion for music. I wish I was more into it, I hardly own any CDs. I can count on one had how many times I have been to a concert.

  5. Courtney Says:

    I think you should go. Fuck the cost. Just go.

  6. Bex Says:

    I agree with Aaron and Courtney – you should just go. You won’t regret it.

Leave a comment